Call us now on 01463 232273 Or email

About Innes & Mackay

Innes & Mackay Writing Competition 2017

Our annual writing competition for secondary school students across the Highlands received a record number of applications this year.
To qualify for the competition, students had to submit a short story of around five hundred words which had to close with the sentence '35 years later John walked out of teh door smiling to himself'. The story itself could have been of any genre or format that the individual student wished.
We offered a cash prize to the winning school of £500 and a £100 voucher for the winning pupil, and a 2nd and 3rd prize for the writers of £75 and £50 vouchers.

We are delighted to announce the winners as follows 

1st - Millburn Academy - The Man who never smiles by Caitlin-Jane Lockhart

2nd - Fortrose Academy - Elysium by Thomas Fox

3rd - Culloden Academy - The Doorman by Joni-Kate Reid

Ewan Donald to compete in Strictly Inverness!
Innes & Mackay writing competition 2016